Xtreme Gaming Network

AC News

Author Topic: AC News  (Read 193107 times)

Online Wally

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8098
  • Karma: 125
  • AC Admin
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #45 on: June 23, 2014, 12:43:02 PM »
I can run 3 screens acceptably with a single 780. 70-90ish Fps.
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”

Offline Dick Forrest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1309
  • Karma: 17
  • Contains traces of nuts!
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #46 on: June 23, 2014, 12:48:39 PM »
I can run 3 screens acceptably with a single 780. 70-90ish Fps.

Nice! What resolution? I assume it can be 3 different resolutions? Will that cause drama? So many questions!

Online Bird

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1995
  • Karma: -666
  • Ysu
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #47 on: June 23, 2014, 01:20:34 PM »
Updating my PC is very much on the agenda. My Motherboard is getting on 4-5 years old but can still squeeze a couple of months out of my old quad core with a little overclock.

I'm wondering about SLI though and 3 monitors.
also i'm a 110% NVIDIA fan boi, I'm not interested in AMD at all, even if they where/are cheaper & faster. don't even mention them lol

I think a few of you are having drama with SLI atm? Is it just in AC or is it a bad driver from NVIDIA?
Can I run 3 screens with just the one card? My card is getting old now GTX660Ti. So if i did go SLI I'd be up for two cards I think.

I think the big question is.. Any regrets about going SLI?

SLI is defintely a 2-card only solution (mind you the dual-core cards count as two!)
Edit: ok this was the sentence of the century...I mean triple monitor gaming.  Derp.
There are teething problems, but I'm sure they'll all be ironed out.  Having 3 monitors is great for peripheral vision.   But Oculus Rift (if you can tolerate it without puking) might give you that, and more - I've used 3d glasses before and their immersion is fantastic. 
I could do without the head tracking, though.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2014, 01:24:03 PM by Bird »

Rolz

  • Guest
Re: AC News
« Reply #48 on: June 23, 2014, 01:22:50 PM »

I think a few of you are having drama with SLI atm? Is it just in AC or is it a bad driver from NVIDIA?
Can I run 3 screens with just the one card? My card is getting old now GTX660Ti. So if i did go SLI I'd be up for two cards I think.

I think the big question is.. Any regrets about going SLI?

It's just been since the 0.20 and less frequent 0.20.1 update where I've had FPS issues... but a close and open seems to fix... finges crossed it doesn't happen to me Tuesday night!!  :o

I run SLI GTX670 cards @5760x1080 sure not all the candy is on (HDR is off) and I'm 100-120FPS. (Until AC craps out and I drop to 30-40fps)

Still I think it looks sweet and loving 3 monitors... now to either buy a cockpit or the dev2 Rift...  ;D

Online Wally

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8098
  • Karma: 125
  • AC Admin
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #49 on: June 23, 2014, 06:01:09 PM »
I can run 3 screens acceptably with a single 780. 70-90ish Fps.

Nice! What resolution? I assume it can be 3 different resolutions? Will that cause drama? So many questions!

5760 x 1980
I'm pretty sure the three monitors can be different resolutions. But the way nVidia surround (i.e spanning three monitors) works, you just have a single 5760 x 1980 resolution. If your monitors physically didn't all have the same resolution, some of them wouldn't be at their native resolution, and probably look a bit crappy.
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”

Offline Dick Forrest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1309
  • Karma: 17
  • Contains traces of nuts!
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #50 on: June 23, 2014, 06:19:09 PM »
Hmm
you guys all have these 4K monitors I keep hearing about yeah?

i'm in the stone age with my 1920x1080 and 1400x1050

Online Bird

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1995
  • Karma: -666
  • Ysu
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #51 on: June 23, 2014, 06:42:45 PM »
Hmm
you guys all have these 4K monitors I keep hearing about yeah?

i'm in the stone age with my 1920x1080 and 1400x1050

I'm pretty sure no-one here has a 4k monitor :)
But when you put 3 full-hd monitors side-by-side you get a virtual screen of a few mega-pixels (i.e. I run 3x 1920x1200  = 5760x1200)

Offline Dick Forrest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1309
  • Karma: 17
  • Contains traces of nuts!
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #52 on: June 23, 2014, 07:02:49 PM »
Hmm
you guys all have these 4K monitors I keep hearing about yeah?

i'm in the stone age with my 1920x1080 and 1400x1050

I'm pretty sure no-one here has a 4k monitor :)
But when you put 3 full-hd monitors side-by-side you get a virtual screen of a few mega-pixels (i.e. I run 3x 1920x1200  = 5760x1200)

Ahh I got it now. lol. it's not the one monitor pushing huge res. It's spanned across all three. Thought you where all mad with 4K monitors!

Offline marty

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3747
  • Karma: -63
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #53 on: June 23, 2014, 07:17:42 PM »
Hmm
you guys all have these 4K monitors I keep hearing about yeah?

i'm in the stone age with my 1920x1080 and 1400x1050

I'm pretty sure no-one here has a 4k monitor :)
But when you put 3 full-hd monitors side-by-side you get a virtual screen of a few mega-pixels (i.e. I run 3x 1920x1200  = 5760x1200)

Im running a single 4k monitor, looks great nice and fast and frames are still good thanks to my 2 GPU's, I have a second 2560x1440 screen wouldnt mind trying a 3rd one the same in triple screens as I have tried rendering the game in 8k and was still getting good frames and even at 3x4k would be playable but would need a 3rd card to run that. Need DP for 4k60 and Titans only have one DP each so cant do with 2 triple 4k though I dont see the need or the extra res on side screens if its possible to run it on the 1440p screens on the sides. I have tried dual screen but that kind of sucks and I can only do it in window mode which kills FPS at that frame rate.

Offline Dick Forrest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1309
  • Karma: 17
  • Contains traces of nuts!
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #54 on: June 23, 2014, 07:42:31 PM »


Im running a single 4k monitor, looks great nice and fast and frames are still good thanks to my 2 GPU's, I have a second 2560x1440 screen wouldnt mind trying a 3rd one the same in triple screens as I have tried rendering the game in 8k and was still getting good frames and even at 3x4k would be playable but would need a 3rd card to run that. Need DP for 4k60 and Titans only have one DP each so cant do with 2 triple 4k though I dont see the need or the extra res on side screens if its possible to run it on the 1440p screens on the sides. I have tried dual screen but that kind of sucks and I can only do it in window mode which kills FPS at that frame rate.

trust Marty to be mad..  :D
how big of a power supply do you have?


Here is a pic of me trying get my PC up to speed to run AC... i know, my laptop graphix card sucks!





Offline marty

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3747
  • Karma: -63
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #55 on: June 23, 2014, 11:47:48 PM »
I have one of these in the backyard for power.


Offline Dick Forrest

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1309
  • Karma: 17
  • Contains traces of nuts!
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #56 on: June 24, 2014, 08:43:39 AM »
I have one of these in the backyard for power.


Yet it's still not enough power!

Each time you drove past me last night on the practice server, all the lights in my house went dim.
cost me about 2 seconds a lap too.


Offline Glen73

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 892
  • Karma: 32
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #57 on: June 24, 2014, 09:42:16 AM »
Im nice and boring running an old ONE 32" lcd and trackir.

Online Guybrush Threepwood

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2018
  • Karma: 67
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #58 on: June 24, 2014, 11:28:39 AM »
And here I was quite proud of my 27 inch Korean ebay import!

Offline marty

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3747
  • Karma: -63
    • View Profile
Re: AC News
« Reply #59 on: June 24, 2014, 05:12:20 PM »
I have one of these in the backyard for power.


Yet it's still not enough power!

Each time you drove past me last night on the practice server, all the lights in my house went dim.
cost me about 2 seconds a lap too.

Your well and truly setup for excuses already, should have one prepared for any poor results by now Dick.  ;)