Xtreme Gaming Network

Simulation Racing Leagues => Assetto Corsa => Australian Assetto Corsa League, Tuesday nights => Topic started by: Wally on May 30, 2017, 11:22:45 PM

Title: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on May 30, 2017, 11:22:45 PM
R2: Jun 6, Red Bull Ring GP, 24 laps + 16 laps

Weather Forecast (http://www.myweather2.com/Motor-Racing/Austria/A1-Ring-Circuit.aspx) (outlook is 25° mid clear, light 9 kmh SSE wind)

Bacchulum and Slow_As have 25% restrictor applied as penalties.

Imola was a practice run for the DRS rules. From this round, I will be applying a 5 second post-race penalty for each illegal DRS activation in race, no exceptions.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EOhqpRYTk1o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hs5svFytfVE
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: grat on May 30, 2017, 11:32:26 PM
That video is amazing! The start! and t1 in lap 2... fantastic! and again crash at t3... They are worse than we are, really. ;)
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on May 31, 2017, 08:00:52 AM
That video is amazing! The start! and t1 in lap 2... fantastic! and again crash at t3... They are worse than we are, really. ;)
Did you see someone get flipped up into the air to the left of screen at T1?
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: grat on May 31, 2017, 08:07:06 AM
That video is amazing! The start! and t1 in lap 2... fantastic! and again crash at t3... They are worse than we are, really. ;)
Did you see someone get flipped up into the air to the left of screen at T1?
Yes, that's (one of) what I am talking about!
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Bacchulum on May 31, 2017, 06:20:11 PM
Is that restriction of mine for both races or just the first? ???
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: marty on May 31, 2017, 07:50:23 PM
R2: Jun 6, Red Bull Ring GP, 24 laps + 16 laps

Weather Forecast (http://www.myweather2.com/Motor-Racing/Austria/A1-Ring-Circuit.aspx) (outlook is 25° mid clear, light 9 kmh SSE wind)

Following that link you posted has a fairly different forecast for next Tuesday.

(https://www.mediafire.com/convkey/f054/6tye20bem9d35514g.jpg) (http://www.mediafire.com/view/6tye20bem9d3551/a1forecast.JPG)
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on May 31, 2017, 08:16:45 PM
Is that restriction of mine for both races or just the first? ???
I thought it would be easier on you to make it for both, so you have a same handling car for both races. 25% restrictor only shaves a fraction of a second off the lap time.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on May 31, 2017, 08:20:30 PM
R2: Jun 6, Red Bull Ring GP, 24 laps + 16 laps

Weather Forecast (http://www.myweather2.com/Motor-Racing/Austria/A1-Ring-Circuit.aspx) (outlook is 25° mid clear, light 9 kmh SSE wind)

Following that link you posted has a fairly different forecast for next Tuesday.

(https://www.mediafire.com/convkey/f054/6tye20bem9d35514g.jpg) (http://www.mediafire.com/view/6tye20bem9d3551/a1forecast.JPG)
Yep, weather changes :)
That outlook was 7 days out; it will probably change as we get closer. E.g. Monday is still 24 degrees as of today, but Tuesday is now cooler at 17.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Bacchulum on May 31, 2017, 11:31:07 PM
Is it possible to restrict myself offline?
Or if Marty can restrict just me on the practice server would help. ;)
I just have no idea how much this will alter things. ???
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 01, 2017, 07:43:04 AM
Is it possible to restrict myself offline?
Or if Marty can restrict just me on the practice server would help. ;)
I just have no idea how much this will alter things. ???
I don't think it is possible offline. I should post up some instructions how to run your own local LAN server on your own PC via the AC Server Manager.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: AJ on June 01, 2017, 08:26:21 AM
You can put a restrictor on yourself in offline mode if you use AC Content Manager.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Gratulin on June 01, 2017, 09:19:30 AM
You can put a restrictor on yourself in offline mode if you use AC Content Manager.
That might mean there is a parameter that can be manually set in the car setup file or an initial file? If you don't use Content Manager?
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 01, 2017, 11:02:03 AM
You can put a restrictor on yourself in offline mode if you use AC Content Manager.
That might mean there is a parameter that can be manually set in the car setup file or an initial file? If you don't use Content Manager?
Quite likely... An ini file like race.ini perhaps.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Bacchulum on June 01, 2017, 02:23:15 PM
Is that restriction of mine for both races or just the first? ???
I thought it would be easier on you to make it for both, so you have a same handling car for both races. 25% restrictor only shaves a fraction of a second off the lap time.
That doesn't worry me Wally, I'll be working on an unrestricted setup as well for my homies. ;)
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: doobs on June 01, 2017, 02:29:21 PM
Is that restriction of mine for both races or just the first? ???
I thought it would be easier on you to make it for both, so you have a same handling car for both races. 25% restrictor only shaves a fraction of a second off the lap time.
That doesn't worry me Wally, I'll be working on an unrestricted setup as well for my homies. ;)
8)
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 01, 2017, 03:17:50 PM
Keep an eye on the weather - it's getting colder and colder. It's currently looking like 13, which should lead to better engine performance, albeit colder tyres.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: AJ on June 01, 2017, 03:40:52 PM
You can put a restrictor on yourself in offline mode if you use AC Content Manager.
That might mean there is a parameter that can be manually set in the car setup file or an initial file? If you don't use Content Manager?
Quite likely... An ini file like race.ini perhaps.
I'd suspect so, I'm fairly this is exactly how Content Manager does it.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: AJ on June 01, 2017, 03:42:53 PM
Just checked, this is the player's car entry in race.ini:

[CAR_0]
SETUP=
SKIN=00_livery_01
MODEL=-
MODEL_CONFIG=
BALLAST=0
RESTRICTOR=0
DRIVER_NAME=AJ
NATIONALITY=Australia
NATION_CODE=AUS
AI_LEVEL=96
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Bacchulum on June 01, 2017, 04:07:04 PM
Where do I find the race.ini? :-[
I found one in the main install and one in My Documents but neither have the info AJ shared. :(
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 01, 2017, 04:22:19 PM
Where do I find the race.ini? :-[
I found one in the main install and one in My Documents but neither have the info AJ shared. :(
It should be the one under My Documents. You might have to start an offline race or hotlap session to create those entries in the first place.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Bacchulum on June 01, 2017, 05:34:15 PM
I must be in the wrong place.
I started a hotlap session and then a race session but all I get is:

[CAR_0]
MODEL=-
MODEL_CONFIG=
SKIN=aleph0_37
DRIVER_NAME=Bacchulum
NATIONALITY=Australia
NATION_CODE=AUS

 :-\
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Gratulin on June 01, 2017, 05:47:03 PM
You are in correct place. The Launcher dynamically creates the race.ini file when you start a driving session. The AC content Manager does the same thing but inserts the RESTRICTOR parameter. Not sure if the Kunos Launcher gets default settings from the race.ini in the main application folder. I will test this shortly.

EDIT: Nope. Seems to just create a new race.ini is your Documents\Assetto Corsa folder.

BUT: AC Content Manager is very easy to install and use. Also, you only need to use it for this purpose. It seems to coexist with the Kunos launcher.

http://assettocorsa.club/content-manager.html
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 01, 2017, 06:06:25 PM
I'm pretty sure you can just edit that race.ini yourself, add the missing lines, and then run acs.exe to launch the game. It will read that race.ini. That's basically all content manager does anyway.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Bacchulum on June 01, 2017, 06:56:57 PM
I'm not sure it works offline.
I tried inserting the RESTRICTOR line but it just gets overwritten when I start a session.
Plus, on the timing screen, there's no bal/res column offline.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Joe on June 01, 2017, 06:59:43 PM
Is Marty away and that's why the practice server isn't updated? I can put the combo up with my server with the restriction if needs be, I just need the GUIDS for entry list.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: GzeroD on June 01, 2017, 07:05:05 PM
IMHO 'Content Manager is a brilliant piece of software, all the more so as the Kunos launcher is a steaming pile of donkey shite. I am somewhat ashamed I only paid one dollar for this programme.
Literally opens hundreds of times faster than Kunos' and closes instantly.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 01, 2017, 07:25:47 PM
Is Marty away and that's why the practice server isn't updated? I can put the combo up with my server with the restriction if needs be, I just need the GUIDS for entry list.
I'll send you the GUIDs Joe.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Gratulin on June 01, 2017, 07:36:01 PM
Also, Restrictor can be set in an offline championship.

Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Bacchulum on June 01, 2017, 09:38:20 PM
Also, Restrictor can be set in an offline championship.
Can't say I've ever clicked that in the launcher. :-[ :-X
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Gratulin on June 02, 2017, 08:07:20 AM
Also, Restrictor can be set in an offline championship.
Can't say I've ever clicked that in the launcher. :-[ :-X
Yeah. I cannot see the appeal in an offline championship. I was curious to see how well it was implemented and if it would ever find it's way to multiplayer. That would be good for our Thursday racing.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Phil.8 on June 02, 2017, 10:16:39 AM
Does AC have a mode thats not multiplayer?  who knew
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Joe on June 02, 2017, 01:26:50 PM
I've just set up a practice server for this with the restrictor for Baccculum and Slow As.

My free server has finished so it's currently running on the same server as the Thursday server. As the Tuesday practice server doesn't get too busy it will probably be fine running two servers on a single instance but if anybody notices any weirdness let me or Phil know.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 02, 2017, 01:53:59 PM
Thanks Joe.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: grat on June 04, 2017, 12:54:07 PM
Hi guys,

this is what I was getting in quali last week, and what I keep encountering any now and then (say, once in 20 or 30 minutes) this weekend... Any idea what might be going wrong? It looks like a faulty contact in some sense. It affects LEDs and buttons (gear paddles and buttons), but not the steering---that keeps working. So it is something most likely linked to the rim contacts/circuits.

http://youtu.be/JP77g4yvvKs

Any suggestion is greatly appreciated, of course.

Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Phil.8 on June 04, 2017, 01:44:37 PM
When my first base did that it was the ribbon cable running through the center that had frayed

This is a pic i found of the ribbon,  the older bases did not have a protective plastic cover around the ribbon cable and constant wheel turning wore it through 
https://www.gtplanet.net/forum/threads/fanatec-csw-broken.308011/
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: grat on June 04, 2017, 01:49:56 PM
When my first base did that it was the ribbon cable running through the center that had frayed

This is a pic i found of the ribbon,  the older bases did not have a protective plastic cover around the ribbon cable and constant wheel turning wore it through 
https://www.gtplanet.net/forum/threads/fanatec-csw-broken.308011/
Ouch,... that sounds very bad.... but shouldn't my base be of the "newer" type? It's only a few months old...

So you are saying I should send the video to fanatec?
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Phil.8 on June 04, 2017, 04:40:18 PM
I would
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Slow_As on June 04, 2017, 05:23:51 PM
 :( I will be otherwise occupied for this Tuesday night  ;D  - so I'll have to miss the Red Bull ring. Had a quick practice anyway - and got to a 1:16:9 with ye olde restrictor - thanks for adding that to the practice server Joe.

One thing that I think may be an issue here is the track limits... The last 2 corners seem to be able to be driven all sorts of ways and still register as valid. Anyway good luck all. have fun.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 04, 2017, 06:08:39 PM
:( I will be otherwise occupied for this Tuesday night  ;D  - so I'll have to miss the Red Bull ring. Had a quick practice anyway - and got to a 1:16:9 with ye olde restrictor - thanks for adding that to the practice server Joe.

One thing that I think may be an issue here is the track limits... The last 2 corners seem to be able to be driven all sorts of ways and still register as valid. Anyway good luck all. have fun.
You can always cut that last corner quite aggressively in AC. You just have to watch that yellow kerb a bit. Conversely, it's quite easy to get a cut at T1 if you run a little wide on exit.

I'm off the pace even with no restrictor :(
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: marty on June 05, 2017, 10:19:22 PM
:( I will be otherwise occupied for this Tuesday night  ;D  - so I'll have to miss the Red Bull ring. Had a quick practice anyway - and got to a 1:16:9 with ye olde restrictor - thanks for adding that to the practice server Joe.

One thing that I think may be an issue here is the track limits... The last 2 corners seem to be able to be driven all sorts of ways and still register as valid. Anyway good luck all. have fun.
You can always cut that last corner quite aggressively in AC. You just have to watch that yellow kerb a bit. Conversely, it's quite easy to get a cut at T1 if you run a little wide on exit.

I'm off the pace even with no restrictor :(

Seeing the practice server is setup with no penalties 4 tyres allowed out it means very little, ironically those that always claimed others were cutting to be faster now setup a server where they can simply cut to be faster.  ;D

Its amazing nobody here even notices when the practice server is setup in a way that will just catch people out with track limits when it comes to the race night.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Joe on June 05, 2017, 10:23:31 PM
:( I will be otherwise occupied for this Tuesday night  ;D  - so I'll have to miss the Red Bull ring. Had a quick practice anyway - and got to a 1:16:9 with ye olde restrictor - thanks for adding that to the practice server Joe.

One thing that I think may be an issue here is the track limits... The last 2 corners seem to be able to be driven all sorts of ways and still register as valid. Anyway good luck all. have fun.
You can always cut that last corner quite aggressively in AC. You just have to watch that yellow kerb a bit. Conversely, it's quite easy to get a cut at T1 if you run a little wide on exit.

I'm off the pace even with no restrictor :(

Seeing the practice server is setup with no penalties 4 tyres allowed out it means very little, ironically those that always claimed others were cutting to be faster now setup a server where they can simply cut to be faster.  ;D

Its amazing nobody here even notices when the practice server is setup in a way that will just catch people out with track limits when it comes to the race night.

yeah for sure did it on purpose so we could claim we were faster. that's how well roll... fk me... get over yourself
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Gratulin on June 05, 2017, 10:29:13 PM
:( I will be otherwise occupied for this Tuesday night  ;D  - so I'll have to miss the Red Bull ring. Had a quick practice anyway - and got to a 1:16:9 with ye olde restrictor - thanks for adding that to the practice server Joe.

One thing that I think may be an issue here is the track limits... The last 2 corners seem to be able to be driven all sorts of ways and still register as valid. Anyway good luck all. have fun.
You can always cut that last corner quite aggressively in AC. You just have to watch that yellow kerb a bit. Conversely, it's quite easy to get a cut at T1 if you run a little wide on exit.

I'm off the pace even with no restrictor :(

Seeing the practice server is setup with no penalties 4 tyres allowed out it means very little, ironically those that always claimed others were cutting to be faster now setup a server where they can simply cut to be faster.  ;D

Its amazing nobody here even notices when the practice server is setup in a way that will just catch people out with track limits when it comes to the race night.
I think you may have misunderstood the original point Marty. If I understand it correctly Ptracker and PLP use AC track limits to determine valid laps. Whether or not Penalties is set is separate from that even though the penalties are applied using the same track limits.

Can someone confirm my understanding since I am using PLP and Ptracker for practising.

Thx
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 05, 2017, 10:35:49 PM
PLP is the only thing that's going to penalize you on race night. Just pay attention to where that warns you.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Joe on June 05, 2017, 10:36:00 PM
:( I will be otherwise occupied for this Tuesday night  ;D  - so I'll have to miss the Red Bull ring. Had a quick practice anyway - and got to a 1:16:9 with ye olde restrictor - thanks for adding that to the practice server Joe.

One thing that I think may be an issue here is the track limits... The last 2 corners seem to be able to be driven all sorts of ways and still register as valid. Anyway good luck all. have fun.
You can always cut that last corner quite aggressively in AC. You just have to watch that yellow kerb a bit. Conversely, it's quite easy to get a cut at T1 if you run a little wide on exit.

I'm off the pace even with no restrictor :(

Seeing the practice server is setup with no penalties 4 tyres allowed out it means very little, ironically those that always claimed others were cutting to be faster now setup a server where they can simply cut to be faster.  ;D

Its amazing nobody here even notices when the practice server is setup in a way that will just catch people out with track limits when it comes to the race night.
I think you may have misunderstood the original point Marty. If I understand it correctly Ptracker and PLP use AC track limits to determine valid laps. Whether or not Penalties is set is separate from that even though the penalties are applied using the same track limits.

Can someone confirm my understanding since I am using PLP and Ptracker for practising.

Thx

Believe thats correct. It was how i was judging valid laps. As for how the server is set up i just copied the thursday config to get something up quick as people wanted to practise with restrictors set.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: marty on June 05, 2017, 10:53:01 PM
yeah for sure did it on purpose so we could claim we were faster. that's how well roll... fk me... get over yourself

I have nothing to get over but thanks for your concern and also nice tone from a moderator here so keep up the non toxic environment your other moderator pal had a complaint about.

I think you may have misunderstood the original point Marty. If I understand it correctly Ptracker and PLP use AC track limits to determine valid laps. Whether or not Penalties is set is separate from that even though the penalties are applied using the same track limits.

Can someone confirm my understanding since I am using PLP and Ptracker for practising.

Thx


PLP will show proper limits, Ptracker uses whatever limits are set on the server unless otherwise setup but clearly thats not the case as stracker clearly shows track limits in use on any lap stats.

PLP is the only thing that's going to penalize you on race night. Just pay attention to where that warns you.

Qualifying uses in game track limits or at least used to and no plp so having a server setup this way is of no help to anyone running in it.  ;) If 3 admins/moderators cant figure this out then lucky an idiot like myself can help them out a little. After all thats what a few of them regularly called me along with other names commonly used by those under 5 and the reason for me not running the server or future races here any more.  :-*
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Mael on June 06, 2017, 12:44:06 PM
Going to be an interesting race.  Managed to roll the car after getting a bit aggressive over the curbs  :o 
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Joe on June 06, 2017, 12:53:40 PM
Going to be an interesting race.  Managed to roll the car after getting a bit aggressive over the curbs  :o

T1 by any chance? You hit that inside curb it fires you skyward.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 06, 2017, 01:06:58 PM
It's quite an error prone spot, T1. It's easy for the car to spear off to the right there, exiting the corner, but it's also a corner where you can gain quite a bit of time up the hill. Fortune favours the brave!
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Mael on June 06, 2017, 01:10:48 PM
Going to be an interesting race.  Managed to roll the car after getting a bit aggressive over the curbs  :o

T1 by any chance? You hit that inside curb it fires you skyward.

Hilariously no, lost the back end while on full throttle in the infield section launching myself into the barriers and somehow landed upside down.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Wally on June 06, 2017, 06:09:44 PM
Server's up. It's a mild 24/25 degrees with a light SSW breeze.
Title: Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
Post by: Joe on June 06, 2017, 07:21:54 PM
Hoping for less cuts than last week!!  :o