Xtreme Gaming Network

S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP

Author Topic: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP  (Read 1206 times)

Online Wally

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6770
  • Karma: 98
  • AC Admin
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #15 on: June 01, 2017, 03:17:50 PM »
Keep an eye on the weather - it's getting colder and colder. It's currently looking like 13, which should lead to better engine performance, albeit colder tyres.
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”

Online AJ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #16 on: June 01, 2017, 03:40:52 PM »
You can put a restrictor on yourself in offline mode if you use AC Content Manager.
That might mean there is a parameter that can be manually set in the car setup file or an initial file? If you don't use Content Manager?
Quite likely... An ini file like race.ini perhaps.
I'd suspect so, I'm fairly this is exactly how Content Manager does it.

Online AJ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
  • Karma: 5
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2017, 03:42:53 PM »
Just checked, this is the player's car entry in race.ini:

[CAR_0]
SETUP=
SKIN=00_livery_01
MODEL=-
MODEL_CONFIG=
BALLAST=0
RESTRICTOR=0
DRIVER_NAME=AJ
NATIONALITY=Australia
NATION_CODE=AUS
AI_LEVEL=96

Online Bacchulum

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1763
  • Karma: 49
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #18 on: June 01, 2017, 04:07:04 PM »
Where do I find the race.ini? :-[
I found one in the main install and one in My Documents but neither have the info AJ shared. :(
« Last Edit: June 01, 2017, 04:09:20 PM by Bacchulum »

Online Wally

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6770
  • Karma: 98
  • AC Admin
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #19 on: June 01, 2017, 04:22:19 PM »
Where do I find the race.ini? :-[
I found one in the main install and one in My Documents but neither have the info AJ shared. :(
It should be the one under My Documents. You might have to start an offline race or hotlap session to create those entries in the first place.
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”

Online Bacchulum

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1763
  • Karma: 49
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #20 on: June 01, 2017, 05:34:15 PM »
I must be in the wrong place.
I started a hotlap session and then a race session but all I get is:

[CAR_0]
MODEL=-
MODEL_CONFIG=
SKIN=aleph0_37
DRIVER_NAME=Bacchulum
NATIONALITY=Australia
NATION_CODE=AUS

 :-\

Offline Gratulin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
  • Karma: 33
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #21 on: June 01, 2017, 05:47:03 PM »
You are in correct place. The Launcher dynamically creates the race.ini file when you start a driving session. The AC content Manager does the same thing but inserts the RESTRICTOR parameter. Not sure if the Kunos Launcher gets default settings from the race.ini in the main application folder. I will test this shortly.

EDIT: Nope. Seems to just create a new race.ini is your Documents\Assetto Corsa folder.

BUT: AC Content Manager is very easy to install and use. Also, you only need to use it for this purpose. It seems to coexist with the Kunos launcher.

http://assettocorsa.club/content-manager.html
« Last Edit: June 01, 2017, 06:00:43 PM by Gratulin »

Online Wally

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6770
  • Karma: 98
  • AC Admin
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #22 on: June 01, 2017, 06:06:25 PM »
I'm pretty sure you can just edit that race.ini yourself, add the missing lines, and then run acs.exe to launch the game. It will read that race.ini. That's basically all content manager does anyway.
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”

Online Bacchulum

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1763
  • Karma: 49
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #23 on: June 01, 2017, 06:56:57 PM »
I'm not sure it works offline.
I tried inserting the RESTRICTOR line but it just gets overwritten when I start a session.
Plus, on the timing screen, there's no bal/res column offline.

Online Joe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1337
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #24 on: June 01, 2017, 06:59:43 PM »
Is Marty away and that's why the practice server isn't updated? I can put the combo up with my server with the restriction if needs be, I just need the GUIDS for entry list.

Online GzeroD

  • RestrictedRacing
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 284
  • Karma: 12
  • ∞+1 Seanus
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #25 on: June 01, 2017, 07:05:05 PM »
IMHO 'Content Manager is a brilliant piece of software, all the more so as the Kunos launcher is a steaming pile of donkey shite. I am somewhat ashamed I only paid one dollar for this programme.
Literally opens hundreds of times faster than Kunos' and closes instantly.
“I was not, I was, I am not, I care not. (Non fui, fui, non sum, non curo)”

Online Wally

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6770
  • Karma: 98
  • AC Admin
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #26 on: June 01, 2017, 07:25:47 PM »
Is Marty away and that's why the practice server isn't updated? I can put the combo up with my server with the restriction if needs be, I just need the GUIDS for entry list.
I'll send you the GUIDs Joe.
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”

Offline Gratulin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
  • Karma: 33
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #27 on: June 01, 2017, 07:36:01 PM »
Also, Restrictor can be set in an offline championship.


Online Bacchulum

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1763
  • Karma: 49
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #28 on: June 01, 2017, 09:38:20 PM »
Also, Restrictor can be set in an offline championship.
Can't say I've ever clicked that in the launcher. :-[ :-X

Offline Gratulin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1849
  • Karma: 33
    • View Profile
Re: S17R2: Red Bull Ring GP
« Reply #29 on: June 02, 2017, 08:07:20 AM »
Also, Restrictor can be set in an offline championship.
Can't say I've ever clicked that in the launcher. :-[ :-X
Yeah. I cannot see the appeal in an offline championship. I was curious to see how well it was implemented and if it would ever find it's way to multiplayer. That would be good for our Thursday racing.